Not everyone knows it or notices it, yet it is one of two remaining parts of the original Palace of Westminster. The Jewel Tower, built between 1365 and 1366 during the reign of King Edward III, was located in the southwest corner of the Palace of Westminster , located next to Westminster Abbey. The tower housed the values and documents of most of the royal family. important and also valuable goods, consisting of jewels, dishes and fabrics.
Located in the heart of Westminster, the Gem Tower, initially recognized as the Gem House, is one of the two buildings of the Palace of Westminster to survive the fire of 16 October 1834, which destroyed the famous medieval palace. From 1200 onwards that the Palace of Westminster was the principal residence of the English monarchy, and also the seat of the. court and numerous other government divisions.
The entire royal residence was delimited by a wall, which created the boundary, along which various portals and also towers were built, including the great entrance, as well as the Gem Tower. The design of the walls was innovative and guaranteed that no one entered the king’s garden, and therefore protected by a water-filled moat that was right in the Thames.
Once completed, the tower consisted of 3 main floors connected by a spiral staircase, each floor with a large rectangular space and a small verse. The 2 upper floors were used to preserve the royal wardrobe, with the best possible items preserved. on the top floor, in closed wooden chests. On the ground floor lived the keeper of the king’s jewels.
It is his duty to ensure that all objects housed in the tower were registered correctly. The custodian is also responsible for lending objects to be used in other royal residences or banquets and for accepting their return, noting any breakages that could have required repairs.
Dalla great del 1300 onwards, a large variety of items were housed in the tower, many of which were pieces of silver platter, including serving plates, goblets, saucers, spoons, jugs and plates.
When there are no pandemics, you can visit the Tower which now belongs to English Heritage. It is located advertisement Abingdon Road on the opposite side of the Houses of Parliament.
- Van Gogh A Wheatfield, with Cypresses Lined Tote Bag£25.00
- Still Life of Flowers in a Wan-Li Vase Umbrella£24.00
- Gold Plated Sunflowers Drop Earrings£6.00
- Whistlejacket Cushion£35.00
- The Virgin of the Rocks Detail Cushion£35.00
- Lake Keitele Cushion£35.00
- Cézanne Bathers Cushion£35.00
- The Fighting Temeraire Cushion£35.00
- A Winter Scene with Skaters near a Castle Cushion£35.00
What is that spire outside Charing Cross station in London?
The cross was destroyed in the year 1647 by the Puritans during the English Civil War. After the construction of Charing Cross station in 1865, a reproduction of Eleanor Cross was created and placed outside the station and not in its original place in Trafalgar Square where the equestrian sculpture dedicated to Carlo.
The reproduction was created by the architect EM Barry himself who built the railway station. He used uncommon images available from the original. at the top, there are eight images of Eleonora, 4 as a queen, with imperial symbols and 4 represented as a Christian. Below are curved angels and shields with royal weapons and those of Ponthieu, Castile and Leon, all copied from still extant Eleanor Crosses who were at Waltham Cross and Northampton.
What is special about King Tut’s brooch?
Isabella Beeton – Author of Mrs Beeton’s Book of Household Management
- Skin8 months ago
Natural exfoliants that you can make at home
- Nature7 months ago
Where to see seals and dolphins in London
- Nature6 months ago
Why is the London plane tree so special?
- Exhibition5 months ago
London, exhibition of royal portraits in Greenwich
- Beauty & Fashion6 months ago
Were Edwardian women waists ‘photoshopped’?
- Cinema7 months ago
Discover Louis Wain’s cats before the movie with Benedict Cumberbatch comes out
- The Arts5 months ago
Scottish Tourism The Kelpies
- News4 months ago
Alexandra Palace’s beer garden will reopen soon